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SITUATION: Afterabad tee shot, Tom plays a provisional ball ...

OH NO, MY PROVISIONAL S OK..BUTIDONT

WENT INTO THE SAME YOU'RE LUCKY, KNOW WHICH IS
TREES AS THE FIRST. THEY'RE BOTH WHICH AS I USED CAN I JUST PICK ONE
, THE SAME BALL. AS THEY'VE BOTH 6OT
ALMOST THE SAME LIE?

NO, I THINK @

THEY'RE BOTH
LOST ..

QUESTION: Is Tom allowed to continue play with one of the balls, or are they both
considered lost?

ANSWER: If a ball can't be identified, it's usually considered lost. However, in this special
case both balls belong to the same player. Therefore, Tom must choose one of the balls and
treat it as his provisional ball, i.e., it becomes the ball in play with 1 penalty stroke. Tom will be
hitting his 4 shot. Rule 18.3¢(2).
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