RULE OF THE MONTH with Tom & chip '
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SITUATION: Afterabad tee shot, Tom plays a provisional ball ...

OH NO, MY PROVISIONAL Sl OK ..BUTIDONT
WENT INTO THE SAME YOU'RE LUCKY, KNOW WHICH IS

TREES AS THE FIRST. ' WHICH AS I USED CANT JUST PICK ONE
THENRE Q03K THE SAME BALL. ' ‘ AS THEY'VE BOTH GOT

ALMOST THE SAME LIE?

NO, T THINK @

THEY'RE BOTH

LOST ..

QUESTION: Is Tom allowed to continue play with one of the balls, or are they both
considered lost?

ANSWER: If aball can't be identified, it's usually considered lost. However, in this special
case both balls belong to the same player. Therefore, Tom must choose one of the balls and
treat it as his provisional ball, i.e., it becomes the ball in play with 1 penalty stroke. Tom will
be hitting his 4" shot. Rule 18.3¢(2).
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