RULE OF THE MONTH with Tom & chip B8
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SITUATION: Chip's making his practice swing too close to the ball...
OOPS, THAT WAS [ DO YOU GET A
JUST A PRACTICE PENALTY? LET'S SAY IT WAS A STROKE,
SWING! . THAT WAY I GAIN A BIT OF

DISTANCE AT LEAST ..

QUESTION: What's the correct procedure if a player accidentally strikes their ball during
a practice swing?

ANSWER: A practice swing doesn’t count as a stroke and can't be declared as such.
According to the rules, Chip accidentally caused his ball at rest to move. He incurs 1 penalty
stroke and must replace his ball on the original spot. (If the same happens on the green, the
ball must again be put back but there's no penalty.) Rule 9.4b and definition “Stroke.”
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